Kedah – What Heart Break Can Do To You Vol 2.0

hello again. it had been more than a year since my last update. i am now back in Malaysia for good. i am planning to explore my country more than ever. today, i will write about my first solo road trip – to Kedah.

Kedah (Malay pronunciation: [kʰəˈdɑh]; also known by its honorific, Darul Aman, or “Abode of Peace”[citation needed]) is a state ofMalaysia, located in the northwestern part of Peninsular Malaysia. The state covers a total area of over 9,000 km², and it consists of the mainland and Langkawi. The mainland has a relatively flat terrain, which is used to grow rice. Langkawi is an archipelago of islands, most of which are uninhabited. Kedah was called Kadaram (Tamil:காடாரம்) by ancient and medieval Tamil people andSyburi (Thai: ไทรบุรี; rtgsSai Buri) by the Siamese when it was under their influence.[3]

To the north, Kedah borders the state of Perlis and shares an international boundary with the Songkhla and Yala provinces ofThailand. It borders the states of Perak to the south and Penang to the southwest.

The state’s capital is Alor Setar and the royal seat is in Anak Bukit. Other major towns include Sungai Petani, and Kulim on the mainland, and Kuah on Langkawi. – wikipedia

I started my journey from Penang at about 2p.m. and arrived at a motel where i booked my room for that night in Sungai Petani, around 4. Then I went to Pantai Merdeka, about 1 hour from there to see sunset. when I was in Pantai Merdeka, I got a chance to go to Tanjung Dawai by boat. One way journey will cost you RM2 but there is nothing much to do in Tanjung Dawai.

Sunset at Pantai Merdeka, Kedah

Sunset at Pantai Merdeka, Kedah

ABC Special, RM6

ABC Special, RM6

bought a tie dye shirt for RM40, which i wore on the next day haha

bought a tie dye shirt for RM40, which i wore on the next day haha

I stayed for a night at Persona Motel, Sungai Petani. the staffs are helpful. there are free wifi, free water cooler. got TV, quite okay air-conditioned bedroom. I paid RM58 for a single room but got a double room instead.

Persona Motel, Sungai Petani

Persona Motel, Sungai Petani

I did not go out much that night because I needed to plan for my journey on the next day (please note that i did not really plan for anything!)

on the next day, I checked out early – about 8am as I wanted to go to Alor Setar which located about 2 hours from there. In Alor Setar, I had my breakfast at Kopitiam Ukir Mall. there are a lot of choices and the prices are not bad. then I drove to Pekan China to see street arts around there and Pekan Melayu. there is a new mural of our 4th Prime Minister, Tun Dr. Mahathir – which is my favourite PM. as i was in ALor Setar, i went to various places there such as Tun M birthplace, Masjid Zahir and Muzium Padi.

Pek Nga Nyok (coconut pancake) with gulai and Malaysians' famous teh tarik. these for rm5.

Pek Nga Nyok (coconut pancake) with gulai and Malaysians’ famous teh tarik. these for rm5.

SONY DSC

Tun M

SONY DSC

Tun M birthplace. free admission.

SONY DSC

Muzium Padi, Gunung Keriang

Masjid Zahir

Masjid Zahir

then from Alor Setar, I drove to the famous archaeological site, Lembah Bujang. it was about 1 hour drive, using the highway.

selfie at one of the site

selfie at one of the site

from there, I drove south to another district, Kulim. there is nothing much to do in Kulim, i thought. but i guess i was wrong, there are a lot of waterfalls there! but the only thing that i planned to do was to go to the tree top walk. i was lucky because i reached there at 5.15 pm, closing in 15 minutes. the admission fee was rm10 and parking fee was rm3.

Sungai Sedim Tree Top Walk, Kulim

Sungai Sedim Tree Top Walk, Kulim

before going back to Penang, my newly met friend, Ms Wani and I stopped at Sungai Dua Char Kuey Teow Kulim (the HQ is in Penang but I’d never been there hahahah) for early dinner. we had special char kuey teow, RM5.50 per plate.

Special Char Kuey Teow

Special Char Kuey Teow

total expenses: around RM250

Persona Motel (one night, single)          RM58
Fuel                                                       RM50
Tiedye shirt                                           RM40
Foods and Beverages                          RM23
Souvenirs and tickets                           RM35
Toll                                                       RM44

Leave a Reply

